Malware? Me?
Okay, this is really embarassing since I am supposed to be an SEO guy, but Google has decided that my site has malware on it and I have been BLACKLISTED.
I attribute this to the Digsby Widget. That’s all I can think of. There is no malware on this site.
Cripes.
Now the process is sisyphean. I have to ask to be reconsidered by a human when it was undoubtedly a machine that considered me MALWARE-infected in the first place.
And I know that this will not be easy. But you know, I will get to see how difficult it really is to come back from a Google bashing.
Thank Goodness I have a full-time job and some contracts on the side. If I depended on this site for a living, I would be in sad shape.
So let’s see how to get my ranking back. I will let you know what Google says. I have officially requested RECONSIDERATION against my MALWARE.
Google is Evil. Watch out for them…
Josh
UPDATE:
Ah, it was legit (semi) after all. I fell victim to a WordPress exploit (wp-stat) and there was a 1 pixel by 1 pixel iframe in some of my pages that was, indeed, evil.
I didn’t put it there. Bad guys did. The good folks at stopmalware.org emailed me and explained to me what was going on. Instead of the generic “you have evil source and are banned until you come back from the dark side” message, I got actualy code snippets that I just would not have found otherwise. Thats a problem with CMS systems - there is so much code. Cheers to you folks at StopMalWare. I wiped the iframe away, uninstalled the guilty module, and will rely on my ISP’s Webtrends reporting for my stats from now on. Webtrends is cool anyhow.
Now I will get cleared by StopMalWare and eventually, Google. I hope. Will keep you posted. It will be interesting to see how long it actually takes. Don’t you think? I’m very excited about it. ![]()
Moral: stay current on your software security updates!
Moral 2: Fantastico is fantastic, but there is something to be said for doing it yourself.
UPDATE TWO:
04.22.08 (4 days after blacklisting)
I just got notice that I am off of the blacklist. So much for it being an impossible task. Text follows:
We have received and processed your request for review of your website, mittechnical.com/. Google’s most recent test of your website found no badware behaviors on the site. As such, the Google warning page for your site has either already been removed or should be removed shortly. In addition, if your site has been listed in our Badware Website Clearinghouse, we will remove your site from the Clearinghouse list.
Overall moral: Communication is Key! Thanks to the folks at stopbadware.org